Get your own
 diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

1:42 p.m. - 2004-12-23
dream
I had a dream that I was in a raft regatta with a whole bunch of people in a big river (like the Hudson).At first we were in a calm area. Big tour boats would pass, two or three at a time. The raft guides were pretty young women, but a variety of people were participating in the regatta. A few boys had a mini speed race through a narrow part of the river.I raced with them for fun and was the fastest.
At one point we stopped for lunch and a rest at what seemed to be a resort/conference hotel. Some boys had arrived earlier and gotten into some mishief.
Sitting around the table, we were talking about how children learned. There was a lot of authoritarian talk. Apparently the regatta was sponsored by a Christian group. They tended toward the "spare the rod, spoil the child" school of thought, and I(of course) upheld the "children learn what they live" way of thinking. I talked with some of the guys who were coming down the hardest on the kids and said I bet they were full of mischief when they were young. They brightened up and looked happier. I kept wanting to say "I am the mother of four boys" but had no opening to say it.
Anyway, only a couple more days 'til xmas.vI am not engaged in the shopping, wrapping,fooding thing. I am more embroiled on the solstice level- reviewing the passing year and preparing for the coming New Year.
The gifts I wish for are all ethereal but powerful. Increased understanding, wisdom, insight, pattern recognition. That sort of thing. Perfect timing. Saying and doing the right thing at the right time. You know. That sory of thing is easy to store and carry around and never gathers dust.

 

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other Diar
yLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get
 your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!